top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

While perusing the shelves...

While looking for my next read among the custom-built bookshelves on the far end of my living room, I spied a slender bright green spine that I didn't recall buying. "Bachelor Brothers' Bed & Breakfast" by Bill Richardson. You know that I will buy a book based on a clever title alone, but this title wouldn't normally have caught my eye. Hmmm. A quote at the bottom of the cover from Publishers Weekly promises "This quiet charmer is a bibliophile's delight." That would have caught my eye, but I would have had to get it off the shelf to see it.


So, the mystery as to why I bought this one continues. I turn it over to read the summary. That's where I discover the reason: it's a book about books. The Bachelor Brothers cater to the reading community at their B&B, encouraging guests to bring their own books, or read from the extensive collection found on site. "An antic blend of homespun and intellectual humor."


Yep. I am a sucker for books about books, and I will purchase a book simply because it sounds like it is going to be about the love of, well ... books. Some of my favorites:


  • 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

  • Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

  • People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

  • The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson

  • The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George

  • The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins


Those are just a few, because if I listed them all, it would be tedious for me and tiresome for you. Just know that I love books about books and will buy a title that would otherwise skip right past my fancy on all other counts.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page