top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

Wednesday Word: Scapegrace

scapegrace

[ˈskāpɡrās]

NOUN archaic

  1. a mischievous or wayward person, especially a young person or child; a rascal. synonyms: scoundrel · rogue · villain · rascal · good-for-nothing · wretch · ne'er-do-well ·

ORIGIN

early 19th century: from scape (see scapegoat) + grace, literally denoting a person who escapes the grace of God.


My coworker Whit brought this word to my attention the other day, and I had never heard of it. Although, it does remind me of a wonderful term I learned from "My Fair Lady", which is "guttersnipe". Even better, when I went to images for scapegrace, this is what came up:


If that's not reason to drink this gin, I don't know what else you need! A rapscallion drinking a rapscallion booze!


Have a great day and try not to be a scapegrace.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page