top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

Update on Clubhouse

So, remember when I wrote that I felt so included and welcome on the new social media Clubhouse? Well, I thought it would be a good idea to update on the session in which I DID NOT feel so included and welcome.

It was a "room" called "Emmett Till Movie: Stop making black trauma for entertainment", or something in that same vein. I was the only white person in the room, and I stayed in the audience to just listen. When I realized that I had a few things to contribute to the conversation, I raised my hand, to be recognized by the moderators. I was ignored, then the hand-raise feature was turned off.


The stage of African-American speakers continued to talk about the subject, going down several roads. One person said, "Damn White People". Another, later, said, "fucking white people".


What am I supposed to think about this? There is a woman on Instagram that I respect, whose account is called ToEveryMom. She made the point in one of her posts that (and I am paraphrasing) when white people go into a room full of black people, they immediately leave the room. She lamented this. Well, ToEveryMom, this is why.


For the most part, white people who are taking the trouble to go into Clubhouse rooms that are obviously African-American-oriented, we are truly interested in an intelligent and awakening conversation. We want to learn. We want to listen and be a part of the solution.


But we are met with "damn white people". What am I supposed to do with this? This is not welcoming. This is not positive. This is not anything close to having me stay in the room to experience more "white hate".


Not sure what to think about this. Chime in.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page