top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

Remember when I said "When a series fizzles"?

A few weeks ago, I posted about when a series fizzles out after a wonderful first book in the series.

Well, do you see this crow, looking at me? He is looking at me because he knows that I am about to have to eat crow.


And where does that saying come from, anyway? I'm going to add that to my list for a future post.


Anyway, I was wrong. At least about the series that I mentioned, "Shades of Magic" by V. E. Schwab. As I was reading the second in the series, I found the action to be a little redundant, predictable, and ... well, boring. I even considered putting it down and not finishing. But, when the library automatically returned the e-version I had borrowed, I decided to recheck it and try again.


And I am so glad I did. I am not going to say that I was wrong about the redundant, predictable, and boring part, but I will admit that it was a very short section. Soon after I started reading again, there was a turn of events that I was not expecting, a ramp up in the suspense, and definitely no way to tell what was going to happen. Basically, I finished it right away. And loved it. And am planning to read he third in the series.


Now, should I have beans or greans with my crow?

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page