top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

Remember diagramming sentences?

I have always responded well to a "first this, then that, followed by those" approach to learning. I think that's why I did so well on the Proofs chapter in Geometry, while everyone else struggled. Something about the logical flow of events resonated with me.


And, so, I was thinking about learning to diagram sentences. Probably not even used in today's classroom, I am not sure what these diagrams were meant to teach, unless it was the different parts of speech that comprise a sentence.


The illustration shown here is a very recognizable sentence, if not overly lengthy. But, for a lover-of-the-diagram, my heart almost skips a beat as I study it, and try to remember the basics.


There are a number of good websites available to help polish those diagramming skills. And, if you are a nerd like me, we are in good company:


“I really do not know that anything has ever been more exciting than diagramming sentences.” -Gertrude Stein, Lectures in America


Thanks to one of the websites I checked out, I am also going to add a book about the history of sentence diagrams to my TBR: Sister Bernadette’s Barking Dog by Kitty Burns Florey.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page