top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

Movie mania and the habit of rewatching

During lunch this past Sunday, the family started discussing whether or not we watch movies over and over. I was saying that, no matter how many times I watch "Steel Magnolias", I cry every time

when Shelby dies. The same holds true for "Beaches" and don't even get me started on "Seven Pounds", which totally WRECKS me. Likewise, I have watched "Mr. Right", "The Avengers", Monster-In-Law", "You've Got Mail", and "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" so many times that I lost count. And then there are the classics. I thought everyone watched "Casablanca", "Gaslight", and "Rebecca" over and over and over. I mean, if you don't know what I'm talking about when I say, "Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again," we are destined to remain Class B friends, at best.


Holiday movies seem to be the exception when it comes to watching over and over. It's practically a law that one has to watch "It's a Wonderful Life" and "A Christmas Story", with bonus points for the original "Miracle on 34th Street" and "The Bishop's Wife". So, I won't go into these.


It was pretty much the consensus that I am the only one in my immediate family who watches movies over and over. Yes, I know what is going to happen. No, that doesn't take away from my viewing pleasure.


I also rewatched all ten seasons of "Friends", am currently on season 7 of watching "Criminals Minds" again, and rewatched "Beverly Hills Cop" recently.


But, now that I think about it, do you know what I very rarely do? Read a book again. Now that I have realized this about myself, I may have to do a little self-reflection and consider why. As a

matter of fact, if I start a book that seems familiar, and I can finally remember reading it, I won't finish it. I will put it down because I've already read it, even if I remember very little about it. I did this with "The Silent Wife" by A. S. A. Harrison. I LOVED the book the first time I read it. I just am not interested in reading it again. I think the only book I have reread is "The Phantom Tollbooth" by Norton Juster.


Hmmmm. Interesting. I'm going to have to ruminate on this.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page