top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

It's okay to be emotional

I got so mad the other day that I cried. This is the second time this has happened to me in a current situation, and when it happens, I need to talk about it. So I called my mom, of course.


Wow, mom. And I know she is reading this because she gets alerts when I post anything new.


Basically, she told me to stop letting this thing make me upset to the point of crying. She said that I needed to stop taking it so seriously, that it wasn't worth it affecting me this way. I totally get what she was saying, and understand her advice, but that's not exactly what I wanted in this moment.


Thank goodness, my bestie Deanne called around this time. Mom and I hung up, and I told Deanne why I was so emotional.


"Are you fucking kidding me?" was how she started. "I totally get why you are crying, and I would be crying, too. That is ridiculous. I mean, why even bother with the entire thing if this is the outcome? I would be so pissed off". My darling friend went on like this for a good five minutes.


Yep, just what I needed.


And they are both right. I had a right to be pissed. I was right to let this overflow of emotion spill out of my body via tear ducts. I am emotional. I feel all emotions deeply, and that is the way I want to live. I think that living this way is "living out loud". And sometimes, living out loud makes me so mad that I have to cry.


Plus, who doesn't need a good cry every now and then?

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page