top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

Hey, that's a catchy title!

Updated: Mar 31, 2021

I am the epitome of judging a book by its cover. I fall for the size of the book, the color, the picture on the front, how minimal or crowded the cover is, the font ... I am the textbook consumer test case for cover designs.


I am particularly drawn to titles. Clever titles. Long titles. Odd titles. Titles with puns, wordplay, and any other "inside jokes" that only a bibliophile would appreciate.


Currently, I am reading, "The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender" by Leslye Walton. Isn't that a provocative title? Doesn't it just draw you in and make you wonder what it is about? What a beautiful name: Ava Lavender. It entices and involves the senses right away. And the title lets a potential reader know that Ava has sorrows. But not simply sorrows. These sorrows are both strange and beautiful. Can one sorrow be both strange and beautiful? Or, are there multiple sorrows that are going to be strange and beautiful, respectively, but not concurrently. And that makes you wonder: Can strange and beautiful coexist?


Some of the other titles that have caught my attention and have made their way to either my read or to-be-read:

  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

  • The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick

  • Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney

  • My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry by Fredrik Backman

  • The Traveling Death and Resurrection Show by Ariel Gore


Let me know which titles have drawn your gaze and enticed you to add them to your TBR.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント

コメントが読み込まれませんでした。
技術的な問題があったようです。お手数ですが、再度接続するか、ページを再読み込みしてださい。
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page