top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

Green Bean Casserole: Polarizing Thanksgiving Side

Updated: Nov 18, 2020

My mom and I were discussing the Thanksgiving Day menu recently, and I threw out the perennial favorite: green bean casserole. Based on her reaction, you would have thought that I suggested I make a "chocolate pie" from the novel "The Help".


Side note: If you have not read "The Help" by Kathryn Stockett, I encourage you to do so. Spoiler: the "secret" ingredient in the chocolate pie is brown, but it is NOT chocolate. YUCK!


To remind you of the original recipe, using Campbell's Cream of Mushroom soup, I googled and copied this directly from www.cambpells.com. So, you can rest assured that it's the authentic one.


The Original Green Bean Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (10 1/2 ounces) Campbell’s® Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup or 98% Fat Free Cream of Mushroom Soup

  • 1/2 cup milk

  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce

  • 1 dash black pepper

  • 4 cups cooked cut green beans

  • 1 1/3 cups French's® French Fried Onions


Instructions:

Step 1: Stir the soup, milk, soy sauce, black pepper, beans and 2/3 cup onions in a 1 1/2-quart casserole.

Step 2: Bake at 350°F. for 25 minutes or until the bean mixture is hot and bubbling. Stir the bean mixture. Sprinkle with the remaining onions.

Step 3: Bake for 5 minutes or until the onions are golden brown.


It does NOT get any easier than this. And that is why many a new bride, poor college student, or otherwise cookless cook brings this to the family gathering. It's practically a right of passage, not only to make it, but to have to eat it! SO, despite what my mom wants, I am going to make a small dish of this. It is a taste from my past. It is a taste of the future. It is a constant in a tumultuous world. It is, I'm sorry to tell my mom, comfort food.


Tell me what you think of this ubiquitous Thanksgiving stalwart side dish!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page