top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

Enjoying the heck out of Bachelor Brothers!

Sometimes (actually, rarely) I intentionally slow my reading pace of a book. There are a couple of reasons for my doing this in the past:


  • "Lincoln in the Bardo" by George Saunders - Because of the style (the layout) of the book, characters based on real people, and the beauty of the writing, I wanted this one to last. I also did more research on the characters during my reading, which made it richer.

  • "People of the Book" by Geraldine Brooks - The intricacy of the details in each chapter, the fact that each chapter was stand-alone, but also built on one another, and the wonderful writing. Like a fine dinner that you have to think about and savor, but really want to gobble it all up.

  • "The Paper Menagerie" by Ken Liu - This collection of short stories gives the perfect reason to pace yourself: after each short story, you simply wait to read the next. However, the stories in this collection are so thought-provoking that I was glad for an almost forced respite so I could cogitate on what I had just read. "The Perfect Match" still haunts me to this day.



And now I will be able to add another to this very short list: "Batchelor Brothers' Bed & Breakfast" by Bill Richardson. Highly recommend this little novella.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page