top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

Duran Duran's prescient song for Donald Trump

I was listening to Duran Duran the other day on Amazon Music. It was a playlist someone created of all of their hits. I had NO idea that D2 had so many hits! When I was totally in love with them in the 1980s, I do remember them having a lot of radio air time, but the hits were just coming at me now one right after the other. Good for them!


As I was enjoying this blast from my past, I realized something as I was singing the lyrics to "Ordinary World": This song is about Donald Trump. Let me give you some lyrical examples.


I turned on the lights, the TV and the radio

Still, I can't escape the ghost of you

What has happened to it all?


Trump is lamenting his loss of the election.


But I won't cry for yesterday, there's an ordinary world,

Somehow I have to find

And, as I try to make my way to the ordinary world,

I will learn to survive


This, as the chorus, is just too perfect. It is time for him to try to assimilate once again into an ordinary world, where he will have to learn to survive this new future.


"Pride will tear us both apart"

Well, now, pride's gone out the window cross the rooftops, run away,

Left me in the vacuum of my heart

What is happening to me?

Crazy, some'd say


I just don't even know what to say here. Besides, "Wow, Warren Cuccurullo, John Taylor, Nick Rhodes, and Simon Le-Bon." Those were the songwriters. You really, seriously nailed it here.


Papers in the roadside tell of suffering and greed

Here today, forgot tomorrow


And, finally, at the end are a few lines that I can imagine Trump using as a mantra each time he stands before the mirror:


Every world, is my world (I will learn to survive) Any world, is my world (I will learn to survive)

Any world, is my world Every world is my world


See what I mean?! Isn't it uncanny?? This is the perfect song to play right before and again after his concession speech. Although, now that I consider it, he will probably tweet his concession speech, so you'll have to tee up the song yourself. I know I will!

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page