top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

Diverse Reading: The Kurdish Bike: A Novel

Riding high from last night's "date" with fellow readers in the "Diverse Reading" group on Clubhouse, I started a new book today, "The Kurdish Bike: A Novel" by Alesa Lightbourne. Diverse reading does not mean simply black authors, subjects, or history. It means anything that I am not, haven't experienced, and will probably never have a first-hand knowledge of. Being an American teacher in Kurdistan is one of those things.


I will admit that this was not my first choice, but I looked for a handful of titles available on e-book from three surrounding libraries, with no luck. I am about a third of the way through this book, and I am not impressed, but will hold off on any judgment until I am completely finished. As I have said before on the podcast, I can usually spot a debut novel a mile away, and this is proof.


The thing to stress here is that I am intentionally stretching my diversity muscles when it comes to the books I choose. My TBR is rife with unread tomes, but, upon examination, is woefully white-male-authored. I will digest this and study on it for examination another day. I think there are a myriad of reasons for this, and I am not the cause of them all.


What are you reading right now?

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page