top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

Been on vacation!


Took this pic as soon as I got to our condo at the Gulf Coast. The sky was so beautiful, the water sporting so many beautiful shades of blue/green/turquoise, and the beach pristine.


Mom, Dad, and I got there a day before Deanne's crew arrived. It was a wonderful 10 days, with memories that will last a lifetime.


We ate copious amounts of seafood, played games, lounged on the beach, lounged on the balcony, and lounged in the house. We met and talked to bikers who where there for the fall Thunder Beach Rally. We sang karaoke, and rocked the house. We bought, drank, and enjoyed a drink-of-the-day, beer and tropical concoctions during meals, and shots from miniatures that we kept in our purses.


It was a glorious vacation!


Some pics follow.

Deanne is getting ready for karaoke here, using a remote as a microphone. I think she is singing "Copacabana" by Barry Manilow in this pic. When on the stage, she and I sang "Animal" by Def Leppard and "Kiss" by Prince.


Lexie is reading "The Phantom Tollbooth" by Norton Juster because I was raving about it on the Bubbly Bibbly podcast. We reserved 6 beach chairs each day to save us from having to move when the people who had reserved them came down to the beach. Although, I will admit that that happened only once. Look at that sky!


I will pause here to point out that the younger of the women on the trip packed enough bathing suits to choke a horse. I didn't see the same suit twice on any of them the entire time. And Emily even matched her cover-up to the bathing suit that day!


Riley and Deanne spent lots of time planning our vacation "Drink of the Day", complete with ingredients list and needed garnishes. Here you will see the first drink, complete with an edible disc floating on top. And when I say "edible", I am being generous. I ate mine and it was disgusting, and made my tongue bluish black. So, maybe the disc was edible, but I am not sure about the ink. I'd rather not know, honestly.

I can't remember which restaurant this was, but Dad was taking the picture, and I'm pretty sure he waited until the man who photo bombed it was in position for a funny photo.


There are several restaurants that have dollar bills stapled to the ceiling and walls. We tried to guess just how much money is attached to the place, but it's impossible. Evidently this is not an unusual practice in tourist-soaked towns. As a matter of fact, Siesta Key Oyster Bar in Sarasota, Florida donated almost $14K of bills from their dining room to Hurricane Dorian relief in the Bahamas.

And, finally, just look at that sunset. A perfect memory to end the vacation, and a perfect photo to close this entry.


Panama City Beach, Florida

October 16-27, 2021

Lee, Jan, Carmen, Jack, Lexie, Deanne, Kendall, Riley, and Emily

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page