top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

Be heard! Email to my Congressmen

Because I don't just rant about a topic - I also act. And I encourage you to do the same. Find your Congressional representation here.



My email text:


Representative Robert Aderholt:

I cannot say I was shocked to see your name at the top of the letter requesting federal agencies look into potential illegal activity of nurse staffing agencies, citing "certain nurse-staffing agencies are taking advantage of these difficult circumstances to increase their profits". Isn't that the backbone of American commerce? Why gas prices rise in the summer and spring break? The very definition of supply and demand? The letter goes on to say, "these costs are simply unsustainable for many health systems across the country". Here's a fun fact: healthcare costs have been unsustainable for the average American family for decades. While Mark Tarr of Encompass Health (Birmingham, Ala.) makes $6,925,024, for a pay ratio: 171:1. What I am saying is that you are barking up the wrong tree. I want my taxpayer money to go toward helping the general citizen, and not the fat cats who are crying foul now that mission-critical workers are realizing their worth. Unfortunately, they have to go through an agency to have a voice. Because you are not giving them one without it.


And to Congressmen Richard Shelby and Tommy Tuberville:


I was very glad to see that your name was not one of the 200 in support of the letter by Misters Welch and Griffith. Healthcare costs have been unsustainable for the average American family for decades. While Mark Tarr of Encompass Health (Birmingham, Ala.) makes $6,925,024, for a pay ratio: 171:1. I want my taxpayer money to go toward helping the general citizen, and not the fat cats who are crying foul now that mission-critical workers are realizing their worth. Unfortunately, they have to go through an agency to have a voice. Because no one else is giving them one without it.


One voice is just that, one voice. Which is why I added the link above so you can find your own representatives in Washington. And why I included the text of my emails, so you can use it to framework your own, if you like. What I can't do is do it for you. I need ... we ALL need ... you to do that.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page