top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

Abandoning Bass Ackwards and Belly Up by Elizabeth Craft, Sarah Fain

A first novel about four best friends who, after graduating high school, decide to postpone the standard college route to pursue their creative dreams.


Sounded good when I bought it, probably at the Friends of the Library store. However, 65 pages in, I had had my fill of teenage angst. There is definitely a market for this one, and I am sure it is an engrossing read. Just not for someone who has been out of college for over 30 years. Between trying to meet parents' expectations, sharing a bathroom with a bulimic stepsister, continuing to hold a torch for your best friend's boyfriend of three years (after he broke up with you the summer after 8th grade, for god's sake), and having untamable frizzy hair ... well, you see my point.


And at a hefty 400 pages, it's a little long for me to slog through. As a matter of fact, that's a little long for a YA/first novel, me thinks. Maybe a little more editing would have encouraged me to stick with it.


No. No sense kidding myself.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page