top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

A satisfying re-read

I KNEW I had read this book! There was a 3-star rating on my Goodreads account, but no review. How unlike me!


I left a review of Taylor Jenkins Reid's "The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo" on the www.BubblyBibbly.com site, so be sure to check it out. But, I have more to say, so I'll say it here.


First of all, while the book centers around a no-holds-barred interview at the end of a Hollywood screen legend's life, the title refers to her husbands. That is very interesting to me. While Evelyn is a very strong-willed woman, it is indicative of the profound effect each of her marriages had on her life. Even though Evelyn was the constant, the title suggests that she wasn't always the most important. Plus, each section's title is the name of that particular husband, written chronologically. Not what she learned or gained, but the name who was with her for that particular period.


Then, I always had Lana Turner in mind when I was reading. The striking blond hair next to olive skin, but the author said that she had Elizabeth Taylor, Ava Gardner, and Rita Hayworth in mind. None of those would have occurred to me. Of course, Elizabeth Taylor and Lana Turner were both married eight times to seven husbands, and Zsa Zsa Gabor tied the knot nine times! I think it was pretty easy to find multiple marriages during the tenure of "morality clauses" in old Hollywood.


And lastly, there is that ending. Even though this was a re-read, I did NOT remember it, and I just can't believe that I forgot. It made the whole thing worthwhile. If you haven't picked this one up, I encourage you to do so!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page