top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Milligan

100 Page Rule

Updated: Nov 19, 2020


I have a 100-Page-Rule. Simply put, I give a book 100 pages to grab my attention and make it worth my time to read it. That, in my opinion, gives the book a fair chance of capturing me.

If I am not invested in the book by then, I abandon it with no guilt.


What causes me to put a book down unfinished? Several things (with examples):


> It has subject matter that is too disgusting for me to stomach. (Chuck Palahniuk's "Haunted")

> It is poorly written. (Eric Wilson's "October Baby")

> Totally uninterested in the characters/story (this is the most frequent cause to abandon). (Ruth Ware's "The Woman in Cabin 10")

> The story is too heavy on negative, so as to make a possible redemption impossible. (Janet Fitch's "White Oleander")


The reason I write this is because my best friend, also a voracious reader, recommended "Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine" by Gail Honeyman. She just knew I would love it, and I really, really wanted to like it. However, I just couldn't. I invoked the 100-page-rule and put it down yesterday. Now I have to work up the courage to tell her.


I may have to make a list of talking points.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti

Impossibile caricare i commenti
Si è verificato un problema tecnico. Prova a riconnetterti o ad aggiornare la pagina.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page